Esthetician Schools in Minnesota
Browse our directory of esthetician schools in Minnesota, or skip ahead to learn about the state's esthetician licensing requirements and job outlook.
Browse All Esthetician Schools in Minnesota
For School Owners
Don't see your school listed? Want to discuss becoming a featured school in the directory? Contact us to learn more.
400 Central Avenue Southeast
Minneapolis, MN 55414
9749 Lyndale Avenue South
Bloomington, MN 55420
4444 West 76th Street Suite 200
Edina, MN 55435
Minnesota State Community and Technical College – Accredited
Wadena, MN 56482
Minnesota West Community and Technical College – Accredited
Pipestone, MN 56164
You must attend a school that meets any licensure requirements as defined by your state. Most states require that you graduate from an accredited or state-approved school.
Esthetician Schools Near Me
- 600 education hours are required to become licensed.
- You must renew your license every 3 years.
- 8 continuing education hours are required to renew your license.
- The average salary for estheticians in Minnesota is $37,840.
- There is a predicted 24% job increase between 2020–2030 for estheticians.
In Minnesota, an esthetician is a licensed beauty professional who performs skin care services. These include cleansing and massaging the skin and scalp, facials, exfoliation, extraction, hair removal, makeup application, eyebrow shaping, and eyelash and eyebrow tinting.
To qualify for licensure, you must:
Minnesota Esthetics Careers
Average yearly salary for esthetics in Minnesota
The Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) reports that estheticians in Minnesota earn an annual mean salary of $37,840 or $18.19 per hour. However, the average esthetician salaries in Minnesota vary widely, ranging from $22,890 to $58,640. Factors like services offered, type of workplace, experience level, and location determine a Minnesota esthetician's salary.
The job growth rate for estheticians in Minnesota is exceptionally high, with projected employment expected to increase by 24% by 2030.
The highest-paying metro areas for estheticians in Minnesota are:
|Metro Area||2021 Median Salary|
|Fargo, North Dakota-Minnesota||$45,050|
|Minneapolis-St. Paul-Bloomington, Minnesota-Wyoming||$33,500|
|St. Cloud, Minnesota||$30,550|
|Duluth, Minnesota area (including into Wyoming)||$29,670|
Table information sourced from O*Net (2022)
State License Requirements
Required to earn a esthetics license
You must complete 600 hours of beauty school training at a school approved by the Minnesota Board of Cosmetology to become an esthetician.
The curriculum covers the following:
Each student must complete at least 60 facials, 40 makeup applications, 20 face waxes, and 20 body waxes, with one-half being hard waxes and one-half being soft waxes
For an esthetics school to remain licensed, it must be open to regular inspections and meet the standards set by the Minnesota state board.
In Minnesota, you need another license to perform advanced esthetics services. These may include needling, microdermabrasion, complex extraction and exfoliation, and electrical energy treatments.
Can I Apprentice as an Esthetician in Minnesota?
No, Minnesota doesn't offer esthetician apprenticeships.
Minnesotan Esthetician Licensing Requirements
After completing 600 hours of esthetics training, you take the required written practical, theory, and Minnesota laws and statutes exams. You can schedule your exams online through PSI's registration website or by calling (855) 834-8746.
The tests can be taken as a combination, which costs $85 and lasts four hours. Individually, the theory exam costs $33, the state exam costs $24, and the written practical exam costs $28.
You need to show up 30 minutes before your scheduled exam time and bring two forms of valid, signature-bearing ID. One must be a government-issued photo ID.
The exams are offered in Spanish and Vietnamese in addition to English.
Candidates needing Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) accommodations can submit a request online through PSI.
With your request, you must submit documentation from a medical professional involved with your treatment. The documentation must be on the medical authority's letterhead stationery and contain a description of the disability and testing limitations, recommended accommodations, the medical authority's name, title, phone number, and signature.
The theory exam lasts 1.5 hours and consists of 85 questions, with 75 being scored. You can expect the content to include the following:
The state exam lasts one hour and consists of 35 questions, with 30 scored. It includes:
The written practical exam lasts 1.5 hours and consists of 55 questions, with 50 being scored. This exam includes:
You must score 75% on each exam to pass and receive your scores immediately after finishing the exams.
Minnesota Esthetician Licensure Reciprocity
Estheticians with a valid license from another state can apply to have their license transferred to Minnesota. If you have completed the required 600 hours of training, apply to transfer your license to Minnesota by taking the following steps:
Estheticians who haven't completed Minnesota's required 600 hours of training can apply for a license transfer by:
Special exemptions are available for military and their family members who hold active esthetician licenses. Active-duty military personnel, their spouses, or veterans who were discharged in the last two years can apply for a temporary Minnesota license. It's valid for one year and ineligible for renewal.
Esthetician Specialties in Minnesota
In Minnesota, you can offer more specialized services by applying to become an advanced practice esthetician.
With this license, you can perform skin needling, electrical energy treatments like light therapy, advanced extractions, lymphatic drainage procedures, and advanced exfoliation techniques, among others.
To qualify, you must have an active Minnesota esthetician license and complete 500 hours of advanced practice esthetics training. The training consists of the following:
An advanced practice esthetician license may lead to higher earning potential. Plus, the job focuses more on the medical side of skin care, so they could find employment in medical settings more easily.
License renewal period
Continuing education required
In Minnesota, esthetician licenses expire every three years on the last day of the license holder's birth month. To renew a license, you must pay the $115 renewal fee and complete eight hours of continuing education from a board-approved provider before the renewal date.
Your continuing education hours for Minnesota esthetician licensing must include the following:
4 Hours: Core continuing education, including:
4 Hours: Professional practice continuing education on one or more of the following:
Contact the Minnesota State Board of Esthetics
Facebook group for licensed estheticians in the state to share information
Minnesota Licensed Stylists, Nail Techs & Estheticians
Facebook group for licensed beauty professionals in the state to share information related to education
MN AP Estheticians
Facebook group for licensed estheticians in Minnesota working toward an advanced practice esthetician license
National Coalition of Estheticians Association (NCEA)
Organization dedicated to helping estheticians advance their careers; the Minnesota branch offers certification and continuing education opportunities
Salon & Spa Professional Association (SSPA)
Educational resource for beauty and spa professionals in the Midwest and advocates for the industry