Esthetician Schools in New Hampshire

Ready to learn about becoming an esthetician in New Hampshire? Browse our directory of esthetician schools in New Hampshire, or skip ahead to learn about the state's esthetician licensing requirements and job outlook.

Browse All Esthetician Schools in New Hampshire

For School Owners

Don't see your school listed? Want to discuss becoming a featured school in the directory? Contact us to learn more.

Ad

Find Cosmetology Schools Near You

American Academy of Health and Beauty – Accredited

981 2nd Street
Manchester, NH 03102

Empire Beauty Schools – Accredited

1328 Hooksett Road
Hooksett, NH 03106

Empire Beauty Schools – Accredited

556 Main Street
Laconia, NH 03246

Empire Beauty Schools – Accredited

456 High Street
Somersworth, NH 03878

Keene Beauty Academy – Accredited

800 Park Avenue
Keene, NH 03431
Accredited School

You must attend a school that meets any licensure requirements as defined by your state. Most states require that you graduate from an accredited or state-approved school.

How to Become a Esthetician in New Hampshire

New Hampshire Esthetician Careers At a Glance
  • 600 education hours or 1,000 apprenticeship hours are required to become licensed.
  • You must renew your license every 2 years.
  • 0 continuing education hours are required to renew your license.
  • Average salary for estheticians in New Hampshire is $40,750.
  • There is a predicted 32% job increase between 2020-2030 for estheticians.

When you start a career in esthetics, you can use products, tools, and machines to combat skin problems and help clients improve skin quality.

Whether clients come to you for relaxation or relief from a skin care issue, you can use your skills and experience to make sure they leave happy.

State License Requirements

600 Education Hours

Required to earn a esthetics license

To become an esthetician in New Hampshire, you must graduate from an esthetician program and pass two exams.

Additionally, you need to meet the following requirements:

  • Submit an application and pay the $50 application fee
  • Graduate high school or the equivalent
  • Be at least 16 years old
  • Fill out a questionnaire regarding criminal history, mental health, and substance use
  • Complete 600 hours of training at a state-approved school or a 1,200-hour, board-approved apprenticeship
  • Pass written and practical exams and pay the $30 license fee

What to Expect from an Esthetician Program in New Hampshire

600 Education Hours

Required to earn a esthetics license

Esthetician programs in New Hampshire require 600 hours of training on skin care, hair removal methods, science, and state regulations. 

Specifically, you may take classes on:

  • Anatomy and physiology
  • Bacteriology, safety, and sanitation
  • Basic chemistry of ingredients
  • Esthetics theory
  • Facial and body treatments
  • Makeup services
  • Pedicuring
  • Professional practices
  • Reflexology and massage related to esthetics services
  • State laws and rules
  • Treatments for facial and body hair

State-approved beauty schools in New Hampshire must meet certain requirements to remain licensed. This includes providing textbooks and supplies to each student, having a published mission statement, and having 1,000 square feet of space for esthetics instruction. Programs should have a completion rate of at least 50% and a job or postsecondary school placement rate of at least 60%.

Can I Apprentice as an Esthetician in New Hampshire?

1,200 Apprenticeship Hours

Required to earn a esthetics license

Yes, you can become a licensed esthetician in New Hampshire by completing a 1,200-hour apprenticeship. Apprentices must learn under the supervision of a licensed esthetician and instructor. Subjects must be the same as those taught in esthetician school.

Esthetician apprentices (who are not already licensed cosmetologists) can't practice on customers until they've completed 150 hours of training. Further, they can't apply cosmetic exfoliation chemicals on clients until they've completed 400 hours of training.

New Hampshire Esthetician Licensing Requirements

To get your New Hampshire esthetician license, you must pass a theory and practical exam and pay testing and licensing fees.

To sign up for the tests, send an application, a $74 written exam fee, and the $119 practical exam fee to testing proctor D.L. Roope Administrations. It's recommended to arrive 30 minutes before your testing appointment on exam day. You need to present your admission letter and a valid, government-issued ID with a photo and signature to enter.

The written exam lasts 90 minutes and consists of 100 items comprising:

Scientific concepts: 55%

  • Basic chemistry
  • Function and composition of the hair
  • Histology and physiology of the skin
  • Human physiology and anatomy
  • Infection control procedures
  • Microbiology
  • Safety procedures and guidelines
  • Skin disorders and diseases

Skincare and services: 45%

  • Cleansing, steaming, and exfoliation procedures
  • Client consultation and documentation
  • Client protection
  • Conclusion of facial services
  • Contraindications for skin services
  • Extraction methods
  • Makeup application
  • Masks
  • Massage movements
  • Skin analysis
  • Treatment protocol
  • Using electrical equipment in facial services
  • Other services related to facials, body treatments, eyelash and eyebrow services, hair removal methods, and wellness programs

The practical exam lasts three hours and contains:

  • Work area preparation and set up of supplies (First client): 10 minutes
  • Client preparation and basic facial: 25 minutes
  • Work area preparation for the new client and set up of supplies (Second client): 10 minutes
  • New client preparation and hair removal of the eyebrows using simulated soft wax and tweezing: 5-minute set-up, untimed procedure
  • Facial makeup: 20 minutes
  • Blood exposure procedure: 10 minutes

You need to earn 75% on both exams to pass. You receive your scores in a result letter available on D.L. Roope Administration's website after seven to ten days. The practical exam is only offered in English. In contrast, the written exam is also offered in Spanish, Korean, and Vietnamese. If your language isn't available, you can request to have a translation dictionary with you during the exam.

Candidates needing Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) accommodations can request these by contacting their esthetician school or D.L. Roope Administrations for the required forms. You need to have a medical professional complete one form, or you can provide medical documentation along with your accommodation request. If you can't receive a physician's approval, contact the board to determine your eligibility for accommodations.

You also need to have a school official fill out another form detailing accommodations provided during school testing. Forms must be submitted to D.L. Roope Administrations along with your exam application.

New Hampshire Esthetician License Reciprocity

Estheticians outside New Hampshire can transfer their licenses through endorsement or reciprocity.

To do so, candidates must:

  • Have completed high school or the equivalent
  • Submit an application and pay the $100 fee
  • Provide a certificate of licensure and school transcripts verifying the number of training hours

Candidates whose training hours don't match New Hampshire's requirements must provide proof of at least 1,200 hours of esthetician work experience.

Members of the military and their spouses who are licensed estheticians can receive a temporary license in New Hampshire, valid for 180 days, while completing the state's requirements.  

Esthetician Specialties in New Hampshire

Medical esthetics, microdermabrasion, and advanced skin care services are popular specialties for New Hampshire estheticians. However, these generally require additional certification.

Estheticians in New Hampshire need to undergo additional training to offer the following services:

  • Using cosmetic chemicals for exfoliation
  • Body therapies such as lymphatic drainage massage
  • Microdermabrasion or mechanical equipment for cosmetic exfoliation
  • Use of light therapy, ultrasonic, radiofrequency, FDA-registered Class I and II, and microcurrent devices

Working with more advanced equipment may also lead to a higher salary. For instance, in New Hampshire, medical estheticians generally perform more advanced skin care techniques and earn $52,260 on average.

License Renewal

2 Years

License renewal period

0 Hours

Continuing education required

You need to renew your New Hampshire esthetician license every two years. To renew, submit an application, fill out a questionnaire detailing your criminal history, mental health, and substance use, and pay the $50 fee before the license's expiration date.

Continuing education isn't required to renew your esthetician license in New Hampshire. However, it would help if you took classes to help you stay current with the profession.

New Hampshire Esthetics Careers

$40,750

Average yearly salary for esthetics in New Hampshire

The average salary for estheticians in New Hampshire is $40,750 annually or $19.59 per hour. The number of esthetician jobs in New Hampshire is projected to grow by 32% between 2020 and 2030.

Esthetician salaries in the state range from about $25,810 to $55,180. Factors such as location or services offered often affect an esthetician's income. Nashua, New Hampshire, is the state's highest-paying metropolitan area for estheticians, with professionals earning $46,610 annually.

Contact the New Hampshire State Board of Esthetics

New Hampshire Office of Professional Licensure and Certification

Resources for Estheticians in New Hampshire

National Coalition of Estheticians Association New Hampshire Branch
An organization offering continuing education activities and helping estheticians become certified.

National Association of Complementary and Alternative Medicines (NACAMS)
This national association serves professionals in the health, wellness, and beauty industries with resources for liability insurance and support with their practices. The site offers information about esthetician insurance for those working in New Hampshire.

New Hampshire Licensed Estheticians, Cosmetologists, and Barbering
A Facebook group for licensed beauty professionals in New Hampshire to share product and treatment recommendations and business advice.

Commercial_Combo_Program-Career-Geo
Esthetics/Skin Care
New Hampshire

How to Become a Esthetician in Your State