Esthetician Schools in North Dakota
The number of estheticians in North Dakota is growing faster than the national average, so now may be the perfect time to start looking at skincare schools in the state. Browse our directory of esthetician schools in North Dakota, or skip ahead to learn about the state's esthetician licensing requirements and job outlook.
Browse All Esthetician Schools in North Dakota
For School Owners
Don't see your school listed? Want to discuss becoming a featured school in the directory? Contact us to learn more.
You must attend a school that meets any licensure requirements as defined by your state. Most states require that you graduate from an accredited or state-approved school.
Esthetician Schools Near Me
- 600 education hours are required to become licensed.
- You must renew your license every year.
- 0 continuing education hours are required to renew your license.
- Average salary for estheticians in North Dakota is $46,910.
- There is a predicted 20% job increase between 2020-2030 for estheticians.
To become a North Dakota esthetician, you must meet specific criteria and pay fees, complete an esthetician program, and pass three tests.
Specifically, you need to:
What to Expect From an Esthetician Program in North Dakota
Required to earn a esthetics license
North Dakota esthetician programs contain at least 600 hours of training on skincare, cleansing, sanitation, and hair removal services.
The content of each program varies, but all schools are required to include the following topics:
For a North Dakota esthetician school to remain licensed, it has to meet very high standards. For instance, it has to maintain adequate cleanliness, sufficient floor space for reception and teaching, and the required esthetician equipment for instruction. In addition, schools must renew their licenses every year before December 31st by applying and paying a $205 renewal fee.
Can I Apprentice as an Esthetician in North Dakota?
No, you can't get your esthetician license in North Dakota through an apprenticeship.
North Dakota Esthetician Licensing Requirements
You must finish an esthetician program, pass tests, and pay fees to get your North Dakota esthetician license.
You must also prepare for theoretical, practical, and North Dakota laws and rules exams. The state law test lasts 60 minutes and costs $60. The theory exam lasts 90 minutes and costs $70. Both tests are offered in Korean, Vietnamese, Spanish, and English.
Testing is administered through testing proctor PSI. You should sign up for your exams online through PSI's website by completing a registration form.
Candidates needing Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) accommodations should fill out a special arrangement request form and fax it to PSI at (702) 932-2666. Along with the form, you must submit documentation from the medical professional who diagnosed you. The documentation must be on the medical professional's letterhead stationery and include:
On test day, you should bring two valid, signature-bearing IDs.
Scientific concepts: 55%
Skincare and services: 45%
You must earn at least 75% to pass.
During the practical exam, you must label all supplies in English. Your score is on a pass/fail basis, and your results arrive via mail.
North Dakota Esthetician License Reciprocity
Licensed estheticians trained outside North Dakota can apply for license transfers via reciprocity.
To do so, you must:
Esthetician Specialties in North Dakota
Medical esthetics is a common specialty in North Dakota.
Medical estheticians receive additional training to perform advanced skincare services, such as chemical peels and laser treatments. They often work in clinical settings with clients who need more serious care, including post-burn treatments or plastic surgery recovery. Due to the specialized services and additional training required, medical estheticians in North Dakota may earn a higher salary than standard estheticians. In North Dakota, medical estheticians earn an average salary of $49,526.
Estheticians can also become master estheticians. Master estheticians in North Dakota can operate and supervise salons exclusively offering skincare services. You can become a master esthetician after completing 1,000 hours of licensed esthetics work, submitting an application, and paying the $25 license fee.
License renewal period
Continuing education required
You need to renew your North Dakota esthetician license before December 31st of every year. You must submit a renewal application and a $20 fee to the state board. Continuing education isn't required to renew your esthetician license but is recommended to help you stay current with the industry.
If your license has been expired for one year or less, you need to pay a $50 late fee in addition to the renewal fee. If your license has been expired for between one and five years, you must pay a $150 late fee along with passing North Dakota's law exam. If five or more years have passed, you must pass all exams to have your license reinstated.
Esthetician Salary and Projected Job Growth in North Dakota
Average yearly salary for esthetics in North Dakota
The average salary for estheticians in North Dakota is $46,910 annually or $22.55 per hour. The number of esthetician jobs in North Dakota is expected to grow by 20% between 2020 and 2030.
In North Dakota, esthetician salaries range from $33,750 to $70,410. Pay varies depending on location, specialties offered, and length of work experience.
Contact the North Dakota State Board of Esthetics
Resources for Estheticians in North Dakota
National Coalition of Estheticians Association North Dakota branch
An organization offering continuing education activities and helping estheticians become certified
North Dakota Cosmetologists United
A Facebook group for licensed beauty professionals in the state to network and educate each other