Esthetician Schools in Kansas
Browse our directory of esthetician schools in Kansas, or skip ahead to learn about the state's esthetician licensing requirements and job outlook.
Browse All Esthetician Schools in Kansas
For School Owners
Don't see your school listed? Want to discuss becoming a featured school in the directory? Contact us to learn more.
3804 West Douglas
Wichita, KS 67203
You must attend school in the state you want to practice in. Most states require that you graduate from an accredited school. Learn more about the requirements in your state.
Esthetician Schools Near Me
- 1,000 education hours are required to become licensed.
- You must renew your license every 2 years.
- 0 continuing education hours are required to renew your license.
- Average salary for estheticians in Kansas is $41,040 ($19.73/hour). This is higher than the national average of $34,090 ($16.39/hour).
- There is a predicted 11% job increase between 2018-2028 for estheticians nationally.
If you love working with different skin care products, learning about the latest anti-aging techniques, and mastering makeup styles, you could do a lot for the people of Kansas by becoming an esthetician.
The field of esthetics deals directly with skin health and appearance, creating a beautiful base for makeup, fashion, and whatever else a client may do to beautify themselves. Your daily work can run the whole range of skin care, from aromatherapy and sauna treatments to mud wraps and skin reviving facials.
State License Requirements
Required to earn a esthetics license
After completing your training, your last hurdle is licensing exams. In Kansas, you have to take a written test on the theory of esthetics and a practical test. You can apply for license through the Kansas Board of Cosmetology after you pass both exams.
At Kansas esthetic schools, you can learn the ropes of skin care from licensed professionals who have dedicated their careers to this field. Kansas licensing law requires you to get at least 1,000 hours of education. Check out each school's curriculum to make sure that it offers the required esthetics topics.
Topics Taught at KS Esthetic Schools
License renewal period
Continuing education required
Kansas licenses expire every two years in the month of your birthday. You must renew your license by the last day of your birth month. The cost to renew any type of beauty license is $45. Continuing education hours are only required for renewing permanent makeup artist licenses and cosmetology instructor licenses. As a permanent makeup artist, you must earn five CEUs during each renewal period. Cosmetology continuing education is always recommended to stay current in the industry.
Kansas Esthetics Careers
Average yearly salary for esthetics in Kansas
Nationally, by 2026, O*Net anticipates an 11% increase in job openings for skin care specialists (2020). The Bureau of Labor Statistics reports that Kansas estheticians earn an average salary of $41,040 per year (2020).
There's no doubt that working in the beauty industry can be super rewarding for you. Just think about it, clients sit down in your chair feeling insecure about their fine lines, acne, or wrinkles. By the time they leave, they have a plan of action and may even see immediate improvements from your services. In a medical spa or luxury spa, you may focus more on offering effective, high-end services that may take more time. In a hair salon that also offers skin care services, your clients may be on a tighter schedule. Self-employed estheticians may work in different spas throughout the area or rent their own space.