Esthetician Schools in Nevada
Browse our directory of esthetician schools in Nevada, or skip ahead to learn about the state's esthetician licensing requirements and job outlook.
We researched all the esthetician schools that Nevada has to offer and found the cream of the crop. View our list of the best esthetician schools in Nevada.
Browse All Esthetician Schools in Nevada
For School Owners
Don't see your school listed? Want to discuss becoming a featured school in the directory? Contact us to learn more.
5191 West Charleston
Las Vegas, NV 89146
2650 South Decatur Boulevard
Las Vegas, NV 89102
4020 Kietzke Lane
Reno, NV 89502
710 South Tonopah Drive
Las Vegas, NV 89106
950 Industrial Way
Sparks, NV 89431
Euphoria Institute of Beauty Arts & Sciences – Accredited
Las Vegas, NV 89117
You must attend a school that meets any licensure requirements as defined by your state. Most states require that you graduate from an accredited or state-approved school.
Esthetician Schools Near Me
How to Become a Esthetician in Nevada
- 600 education hours or 1,200 apprentice hours are required to become licensed.
- You must renew your license every 2-4 years.
- 0 continuing education hours are required to renew your license.
- Average salary for estheticians in Nevada is $33,220.
- There is a predicted 16% job increase between 2018-2028 for estheticians.
In Nevada, an esthetician is a beauty professional who provides skincare, makeup application, massage therapy, and hair removal services. Before pursuing an esthetician career, you need to:
Nevada Esthetics Careers
Average yearly salary for esthetics in Nevada
Estheticians in Nevada earn an average of $33,220 annually or $15.97 per hour. The esthetician industry in Nevada is expected to increase by 16% from 2018-2028.
Pay ranges from about $18,470-$49,470, with a median wage of $29,980 annually. As of 2021, the highest-paying metro areas for estheticians in the Nevada area are:
|Metro Area||2021 Median Salary|
|Las Vegas-Henderson-Paradise, Nevada||$28,980|
Table information sourced from the O*Net (2022)
These look lower than average on the surface. But remember: The numbers above are the median (exact middle) while the average is the mean (factors in all salaries).
What to Expect From an Esthetician Program in Nevada
Required to earn a esthetics license
Before taking your exams, you must complete 600 hours of esthetician training at a state-approved esthetics school.
A standard esthetics curriculum includes:
Unlike some states, licensed estheticians can’t perform manicures or pedicures in Nevada without additional licensure. So, nail technology isn’t part of the Nevada esthetics curriculum.
For a school to remain licensed, it must adhere to the board’s standards, including:
Can I Apprentice as an Esthetician in Nevada?
Required to earn a esthetics license
You can earn your esthetician license via an apprenticeship in Nevada. To do this, you must:
Nevada Esthetician Licensing Requirements
After completing 600 training or 1,200 apprenticeship hours, you must take written, practical, and state law exams. You must score a 75% or higher on all three tests to pass.
You must submit a testing application and a $125 exam fee. Nevada’s testing provider, Pearson VUE, will contact you to set up your account and schedule your exams.
Applicants needing Americans with Disabilities Act accommodations must submit a request through Pearson VUE’s website and the documentation detailing their condition and how it affects their test-taking abilities.
The theory exam can be taken in other languages. However, to apply for an interpreter, you must submit a request to the state board before scheduling your exam.
On the day of the test, arrive 30 minutes before your scheduled time and bring two current, signature-bearing identification forms. One must have your photo on it.
The theory exam comprises 75 scored items and takes one hour and 30 minutes to complete. You receive your score on the day of the test.
The theory test is comprised of:
If you received your esthetics education from a school in Nevada, you must take the practical test at the school you graduated from. Otherwise, you must take the test at the board offices.
For your practical exam, bring bags (labeled in English), a clear plastic container, hand sanitizer, mannequin head and stand, three grocery paper bags lined with a plastic bag, a paper towel, a spray bottle of pre-mixed barbicide, and a first aid kit containing a pair of disposable gloves, plastic baggie, gauze or tissue, band-aid, and antiseptic wipe.
The practical exam is made up of:
The Nevada state law test covers legal and consumer protection requirements within the beauty industry as outlined in the Nevada Revised Statutes and the Nevada Administrative Code 644. The exam includes 25 questions and can be taken in English, Spanish, Vietnamese, Korean, and Chinese.
You can retake the exams by paying a $95 retake test fee online. You must schedule your next exam no sooner than 24 hours after the failed test.
Nevada Esthetician Licensure Reciprocity
Estheticians licensed outside of Nevada can have their license transferred via reciprocity.
To qualify, you must have an active license and submit a reciprocity application, a $325 fee, and license verification. Applicants must also pass the state’s law exam. Facial specialist licenses from Florida may require theory testing as well.
Candidates with licenses from the following states don’t need to contact their current state for licensing verification: Alaska, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Georgia, Hawaii, Florida, Idaho, Illinois, Iowa, Maine, Indiana, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, and Wisconsin.
Those in any other state or territory must have their state board send verification to Nevada.
Even though esthetics education from California is recognized by the state of Nevada, esthetics schooling from several schools in California are not recognized by the state of Nevada. These are:
These applicants will have their applications reviewed in further detail by the board.
Esthetician Specialties in Nevada
Nevada offers additional esthetician licenses, including Advanced Esthetician and Esthetician and Advanced Esthetician Instructor.
Nevada Advanced Esthetician License
Advanced estheticians can perform many procedures standard estheticians may not. The Nevada Board of Cosmetology provides an extensive list of procedures estheticians, advanced estheticians, and skincare specialists to be monitored by healthcare providers can perform. The list also includes practices that may be allowed in other states but aren’t allowed for Nevada estheticians.
A few popular procedures from the list include:
|Procedure||Estheticians||Advanced Estheticians||Healthcare Supervision Required||Prohibited|
|Fillers (e.g., Botox)||X|
|Laser Hair Removal||X||X|
Nevada Board of Cosmetology Senate Bill 291, Updated June 8, 2022
These are only a few of the many procedures provided by the department as of 2022. Please check the link above if you’re interested in any practices not listed.
“Prohibited” doesn’t necessarily mean “banned” in the state. Some, like permanent makeup, are regulated by different departments. Others, like laser hair removal, may require additional training even if it is allowed.
Those requiring the supervision of a healthcare professional by default become similar to the job of a medical esthetician.
Nurse estheticians, on the other hand, must have a nursing degree in addition to their esthetics license.
The advanced esthetician program lasts for 900 hours; its licenses are $70 for two years or $140 for four years. You may not skip the standard esthetician program and go straight to advanced, though no work hours are required before you can begin advanced training.
Nevada Esthetician Instructor and Advanced Esthetician Instructor Licenses
Esthetician instructors can teach esthetics, and advanced esthetician instructors can teach advanced esthetics.
Standard esthetician Instructors must have worked in the field full time before going for their instructor license and received:
Advanced esthetician instructors have the same training requirements as standard instructors. But, they must have worked as advanced estheticians, not strictly as standard estheticians.
Instructors, unlike estheticians, need to undergo continuing education and renew their licenses every two years.
License renewal period
Continuing education required
Esthetician licenses must be renewed by your birthdate every two or four years. To do this, submit a license renewal application and a two-year $70 license fee or four-year $140 fee.
If your license has been inactive for four or more years, you need to retake all exams before applying for reinstatement.
Contact the Nevada State Board of Esthetics
- 8945 West Russell Road, Suite 100, Las Vegas, Nevada 89148
- Website: Nevada State Board of Cosmetology
- Email: email@example.com
- Call: 702-508-0015
Nevada State Board of Cosmetology – Student Resources
The board has an entire page of resources for students, vetted and perfect for students in the state.