Esthetician Schools in New Jersey
Browse our directory of esthetician schools in New Jersey, or skip ahead to learn about the state's esthetician licensing requirements and job outlook.
Browse All Esthetician Schools in New Jersey
For School Owners
Don't see your school listed? Want to discuss becoming a featured school in the directory? Contact us to learn more.
301 Gibraltar Drive Suite 1-A
Morris Plains, NJ 7950
8200 Town Center Boulevard
Voorhees, NJ 8043
121 Watchung Avenue
North Plainfield, NJ 7060
1458 Route 35 South
Ocean Township, NJ 7712
312 State Street
Perth Amboy, NJ 8861
70 East Holly Avenue
Pitman, NJ 8071
5518 Bergenline Avenue
West New York, NJ 7093
You must attend school in the state you want to practice in. Most states require that you graduate from an accredited school. Learn more about the requirements in your state.
- 600 education hours are required to become licensed.
- You must renew your license every 2 years.
- 0 continuing education hours are required to renew your license.
- The average for estheticians in New Jersey is $31,070 ($14.94/hour). This is lower than the national average of $34,090 ($16.39/hour).
- There is a predicted 24% job increase between 2016 - 2026 for estheticians. This is higher than the expected national growth of 11%.
Are you ready to dedicate your days to transforming people with makeup, facials, and new skin care techniques? If so, you may need to learn more about earning a New Jersey esthetician license. Skin care is one of the biggest specialties in beauty, giving people the chance to have younger, smoother, and healthier skin.
As an esthetician, you can make it happen with chemical products, electrical apparatus, machines, and massage techniques.
State License Requirements
Required to earn a esthetics license
After you complete at least 600 hours of skin care training, you can apply for your license through the New Jersey State Board of Cosmetology and Hairstyling. They require passing scores on a skills exam, a written exam, and a New Jersey law exam. This is the final step in starting your career.
Education is the first step to an esthetician license in NJ. At a state-approved school, you can study theory, get hands-on experience, and learn how to communicate with clients effectively for better results. Schools are required to cover specific subjects in their curricula.
Topics and Subjects at Esthetics Programs in New Jersey
License renewal period
Continuing education required
Cosmetology license renewal in New Jersey happens biannually on even-numbered years. The cost to renew a beauty practitioner's license is $60. Cosmetology continuing education is not required for most licenses, although electrology licensees must do 2 CEUs each licensure period. Though continuing education may not be required for some practitioners' licenses, cosmetology CEUs are always recommended to stay current in the industry. If licenses are expired more than 7 years, you must take a 250-hour refresher course and you must re-take the exams.
New Jersey Esthetics Careers
Average yearly salary for esthetics in New Jersey
Overall, the average salary for a New Jersey esthetician is $31,070 per year (Bureau of Labor Statistics, 2020). Between 2016 and 2026, job openings for estheticians may increase 24% (O*Net, 2019).
One of the most exciting parts of working in skin care is the wide variety of ways you can use your education. Many new estheticians start out in a spa or salon, building a reputation and client base by gaining experience with different procedures and helping clients achieve the effects they want. As you grow in your career, you may decide to open your own spa, become a self-employed esthetician that works in several local spas, or work with a major skin care brand as an ambassador or trainer.
Contact the New Jersey State Board of Esthetics
The New Jersey State Board of Cosmetology can help you with updating your name or change of address information, acquiring out-of-state licensing, renewal and other useful forms, as well as answer other questions about obtaining a New Jersey cosmetology license.