Esthetician Schools in Wyoming

If you want to learn about how to become an esthetician in Wyoming, we're here to help. Browse our directory of esthetician schools in Wyoming, or skip ahead to learn about the state's esthetician licensing requirements and job outlook.

Browse All Esthetician Schools in Wyoming

For School Owners

Don't see your school listed? Want to discuss becoming a featured school in the directory? Contact us to learn more.


Find Cosmetology Schools Near You

Chopped Beauty Academy – Accredited

440 Nevada Avenue
Lovell, WY 82431

Eastern Wyoming College – Accredited

3200 West C Street
Torrington, WY 82240

Rocky Mountain Academy of Hair, Skin, and Nails – Accredited

315 East 5th Street
Casper, WY 82601

True Colors Cosmetology – Accredited

1103 East Boxelder Road Suite O
Gillette, WY 82718

Wink Beauty Academy – Accredited

2401 G Avenue
Cody, WY 82414
Accredited School

You must attend a school that meets any licensure requirements as defined by your state. Most states require that you graduate from an accredited or state-approved school.

Esthetician Schools Near Me

Check out the Esthetics/Skin Care schools these cities in Wyoming have to offer.

Comparing Program Costs in WY

Cosmetology School Costs
Highest range: $17,300 - $17,300
Lowest range: $17,300 - $17,300
Average: $17,300

How to Become a Esthetician in Wyoming

Wyoming Esthetician Careers At a Glance
  • 600 education hours are required to become licensed.
  • You must renew your license every 2 years.
  • 0 continuing education hours are required to renew your license.
  • Average salary for estheticians in Wyoming is $46,070.
  • There is a predicted 17% job increase between 2020-2030 for estheticians nationally.

You need to take a state-approved training program, pass theory and practical tests, submit applications and fees to become an esthetician in Wyoming.

To take this a bit further, future Wyoming estheticians need to:

  • Be at least 16.
  • Have a high school diploma, GED, or similar.
  • Provide proof of legal residency (e.g., passport or permanent resident card).
  • Submit a state-issued photo ID and social security card or birth certificate.
  • Complete 600 hours of state-approved training lasting no less than three months.
  • Have an acceptable criminal record.
  • Pass written and practical exams.
  • Turn in English translations of required documents (if relevant).

What to Expect From an Esthetician Program in Wyoming

600 Education Hours

Required to earn a esthetics license

Wyoming's 600-hour esthetician programs should provide students with the knowledge and abilities needed to get a state license. Programs focus on skin care, along with anatomy and physiology, facial treatments, makeup application, skin health, and hair removal. Additionally, esthetician students become familiar with a wide range of skincare products.

Students must complete 600 training hours at an accredited esthetician program, averaging less than a year of training. Subjects include:

  • Anatomy, physiology, and histology
  • Chemistry
  • Electricity
  • Facial massage
  • Facials
  • Hair removal
  • Health, safety, and infection control
  • Laws and regulations
  • Makeup
  • Pre-and post-service procedures
  • Professional development
  • Skin analysis
  • Skin disorders and diseases
  • Skincare products (chemistry, ingredients, and selection)
  • Treatment room setup and use
  • Advanced topics and treatments

Can I Apprentice as an Esthetician in Wyoming?

No, can't earn your esthetician license via an apprenticeship in Wyoming.

Wyoming Esthetician Licensing Requirements

In addition to training, you need to pass exams and pay fees to earn your Wyoming esthetician license.

  • Education: Complete a 600-hour esthetician program at an accredited school.
  • Exam: You need to pass Wyoming's esthetician exam with a score of 75% or better.
  • Fees: You must pay all relevant exam and application fees.

After your Wyoming esthetician program, you need to apply to take your esthetician exams. This application also covers your license, so you don't need to send a separate form after passing your test. Along with the notarized application, you need to submit at least two forms of identification and your exam and license fee of $148. If you're from out of state and want to earn your Wyoming esthetician license by examination, you also have to turn in your current esthetician license.

On this form, you must admit to any disciplinary actions related to your license, felony convictions, alcohol abuse, and drug abuse. These aren't necessarily automatic disqualifications, but you do need to explain them.

So long as the application is in the board's hands at least one week before your tests, you can sit for them. One test, the theory exam, showcases your knowledge through 110 multiple-choice questions. The other is a practical skills assessment, challenging you to demonstrate your understanding. If you pass with a score of 75% or higher, you're eligible for Wyoming esthetician licensure.

Wyoming's Board of Cosmetology offers at least six test dates each year. If you fail one or portions of Wyoming's esthetician exam, you can retake the test up to three times over two years.

Wyoming Esthetician License Reciprocity

Wyoming offers relatively open endorsement regulations designed to let trained estheticians from elsewhere work in Wyoming with as little stress as possible.

Those interested in transferring their license to Wyoming must provide documentation of an equal or greater number of training hours required by the state. If you fall short of Wyoming's requirements, you may be required to complete their written and practical esthetician exam.

Experienced estheticians can leverage their work history against Wyoming's 600 hours of required professional work.

When applying for reciprocity, you must submit proof of licensure and pay all necessary fees. The cost to transfer your out-of-state esthetician license is $273.

Esthetician Specialties in Wyoming

Estheticians in Wyoming often have the chance to hone specialized skills within the skincare world. Specializing can allow you to follow your passion and, perhaps, make some money along the way.

Wyoming has laws for varying types of salons and spa managers.

For a traditional, in-home, or mobile salon, you must submit an inspection sheet, provide a detailed floor plan, have an appropriate workstation, undergo inspections, and more. If you want an in-home salon, clients can't be able to go through your personal quarters at any point. This includes maintaining a separate bathroom. Mobile salons must be self-contained. So, you can't just work out of your car.

That said, you may travel to clients' homes, healthcare facilities and similar, or temporary living facilities to provide services.

All instructors in the Wyoming beauty field must have at least a high school diploma and relevant license, be at least 18 years old, and have worked professionally for at least 50 weeks for 36 hours per week within the previous five years.

If you just want to add something to your skills, licensed estheticians can earn eyelash extension certifications through state-approved programs.

And if you want to expand your skills from skincare to nearly the whole beauty shebang? You can apply your esthetics training hours to a cosmetology program in Wyoming.

Esthetician License Renewal in Wyoming

2 Years

License renewal period

0 Hours

Continuing education required

Your first license is issued for one year from the month you secured your license. So, if you receive your first license on November 3, it expires the following November 3. After that first year, your license expires during your birth month every two years.

Renewing your personal license costs $96. That one-year license costs $75.

Wyoming doesn't require continuing education hours. But, keeping up with advancements in the field is worthwhile.

Esthetician Salary and Projected Job Growth in Wyoming


Average yearly salary for esthetics in Wyoming

According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS), estheticians in Wyoming can expect an average salary of $46,070 per year ($22.15 per hour). Pay ranges from approximately $34,470 to $61,150, often depending on skills, location, and work experience.

Jobs for Wyoming estheticians may grow by as much as 17% by 2030. This is on par with the national average growth expectation for the field.

Contact the Wyoming State Board of Esthetics

Board of Cosmetology

Resources for Estheticians in Wyoming

Wyoming Esthetician—National Coalition of Estheticians Association Facebook
Organization for estheticians in Wyoming offering information about networking and education opportunities

Wyoming Department of Workforce Service
Job search tools, unemployment insurance, and more

Wyoming Small Business Development Center (SBDC)
Assists entrepreneurs, including business consulting and training

Wyoming Title 33
Full text of relevant licensing laws

Esthetics/Skin Care

How to Become a Esthetician in Your State

Select a beauty program and state to view schools