Cosmetology Schools in Nevada
Voted by Elite Beauty Society as one of the top five states to launch and advance a beauty career, Nevada may be a perfect place to attend cosmetology school and start your dream job. Browse our directory of cosmetology schools in Nevada, or skip ahead to learn about the state's cosmetology licensing requirements and job outlook.
Browse All Cosmetology Schools in Nevada
For School Owners
Don't see your school listed? Want to discuss becoming a featured school in the directory? Contact us to learn more.
5191 West Charleston Suite 150
Las Vegas, NV 89146
2650 South Decatur Boulevard
Las Vegas, NV 89102
4856 South Eastern Avenue
Las Vegas, NV 89119
4020 Kietzke Lane
Reno, NV 89502
710 South Tonopah Drive
Las Vegas, NV 89106
Euphoria Institute of Beauty Arts & Sciences – Accredited
Las Vegas, NV 89117
You must attend school in the state you want to practice in. Most states require that you graduate from an accredited school. Learn more about the requirements in your state.
Cosmetology Schools Near Me
- 1,600 education hours or 3,200 apprentice hours are required to become licensed.
- You must renew your license every 2-4 years.
- 0 continuing education hours are required to renew your license.
- The average salary for cosmetologists in Nevada is $26,580.
- There is a predicted 19% job increase between 2020-2030 for cosmetologists.
In Nevada, a cosmetologist is licensed by the state board to cleanse, stimulate, or massage the scalp and beautify the hair. They may cut, color, curl, straighten, or shape hair, remove unwanted hair, perform facials and manicures, and cleanse or beautify the skin.
The requirements to become a cosmetologist in Nevada include:
With your application, you need to submit a passport-quality photo, your Social Security number, and any transcripts or hour certifications from an approved beauty program.
If you have a felony, you must also submit additional documents about your conviction with your application. Each case is reviewed and communicated to you within 14 business days.
Cosmetologist Salary and Projected Job Growth in Nevada
Average yearly salary for cosmetology in Nevada
The job growth projection for hairdressers, hairstylists, and cosmetologists in Nevada is bright, with beauty careers in the state expected to grow by 19% through 2030, which is much faster than average.
The Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) reports that in Nevada, hairdressers, hairstylists, and cosmetologists earned an average salary of $26,580 per year or $12.78 per hour in 2021. This is slightly lower than the national average of $35,990 or $17.30 per hour in the U.S.
However, salaries vary based on location and industry. For example, you may earn the highest salary by working in the motion picture industry. Highly populated cities may also have higher wages to account for the higher cost of living.
Salaries for cosmetologists in various metropolitan and nonmetropolitan areas in Nevada are:
|Metropolitan and Nonmetropolitan Areas||2021 Median Salary|
|Carson City, NV||$28,560|
|Nevada nonmetropolitan area||$27,810|
|Las Vegas-Henderson-Paradise, NV||$23,200|
Table information sourced from O*Net (2022)
State License Requirements
Required to earn a cosmetology license
You must complete at least 1,600 training hours in an approved cosmetology program over 10 months to earn licensure in Nevada.
To remain licensed, a cosmetology school in Nevada must meet certain standards deemed appropriate. The board offers a complete list of board-approved schools in Nevada (which are also included on our Beauty Schools Directory list on this page) and tips on selecting a school that's right for you.
Can I Apprentice as a Cosmetologist in Nevada?
Nevada offers an apprenticeship program for cosmetologists. As an apprentice, you must complete at least 3,200 hours of service as an apprentice to earn licensure, and the salon must be within 60 miles of a licensed beauty school.
To begin an apprenticeship, register with the board to gain certification, then you can learn on the job in a salon establishment and practice under a licensed cosmetologist. Submit your application to the board with a statement signed by the cosmetologist who will supervise you and pay a $115 fee. The certificate of registration as an apprentice is valid for 24 months, but you can renew with good cause.
Throughout the program, expect to submit timecards to the board to document your progress. Once you complete the required hours, you can apply for a cosmetologist license and take the exams.
Nevada Cosmetology Licensing Requirements
After completing the 1,600 training hours, you can take the examinations for licensure. You must pass all three exams—the theory, Nevada state laws, and practical tests—with a score of 75% or higher. The board offers detailed test preparation information for each exam.
The written portion of the exam covers theory and laws, focusing on topics like sanitation and sterilization, using mechanical and electrical tools as a cosmetologist, and the laws associated with cosmetology in Nevada. It's available in English, Spanish, Vietnamese, Simplified Chinese, and Korean. You must schedule the test within 15 days of graduation and pay the $125 fee.
The 110-question cosmetology theory test takes around two hours to complete, while the Nevada Law Exam covers 25 questions in 30 minutes. On the test day, arrive at either of the two testing locations with your government-issued I.D.
The test is administered on a computer, and you will find out if you passed or failed immediately following the exam. If you fail either section, you must reschedule and pay a $95 retake fee.
The practical exam demonstrates your skill in hair, facial massage, and cosmetics. Unlike many other states, you take the practical at your school within the final 100 hours of your education rather than at the board office or a testing center. The school handles scheduling the test, and you have 30 days to retake any failed sections of the test.
Nevada Cosmetology Licensure Reciprocity
You can transfer your cosmetology license to Nevada via reciprocity if you have an active license in another state, territory, or country. Your license certification must also have similar requirements to Nevada.
To apply, send the board a reciprocity application online with a non-refundable $325 fee. You also need to take a 25-question Nevada State Law Test and pass with at least 75% to earn your license.
Nevada's state board looks up your licensing information when you apply. However, you must contact your state and send the certification to the board if you are licensed in the following locations:
Cosmetology Specialties in Nevada
If you're interested in cosmetology because you want to get into other aspects of the beauty industry, you may be able to take a notably shorter program to obtain licensure in just that specialty.
Nevada offers specialty licenses in threading, hair braiding, makeup artistry, hair design, and advanced esthetics that would take fewer hours than a full cosmetology license. For example, you can become a licensed hair braider with just 250 training hours.
License renewal period
Continuing education required
In Nevada, cosmetologists must renew their licenses online every two or four years. Your license expires on your date of birth, and the renewal fee is $70 for a two-year or $140 for a four-year license. Continuing education is not required to renew your cosmetology license in Nevada.
Contact the Nevada State Board of Cosmetology
V. State Board of Cosmetology Instagram
The state board's Instagram page posts daily Employment Opportunity notices with job postings for various beauty industry professionals.
Nevada Cosmetology Candidate Handbook
This handbook, complete with exam content outlines and test application instructions, helps students prepare for the cosmetology theory exam.