Barbering Schools in Tennessee
If you're ready to learn about barber schools and careers in Tennessee, you're in the right spot! Browse our directory of barbering schools in Tennessee, or skip ahead to learn about the state's barbering licensing requirements and job outlook.
Browse All Barbering Schools in Tennessee
For School Owners
Don't see your school listed? Want to discuss becoming a featured school in the directory? Contact us to learn more.
222 East Unaka Avenue
Johnson City, TN 37601
Global Beauty and Barber Institute – Accredited
Goodlettsville, TN 37072
Last Minute Cuts School of Barbering and Cosmetology – Accredited
Memphis, TN 38109
You must attend a school that meets any licensure requirements as defined by your state. Most states require that you graduate from an accredited or state-approved school.
Barbering Schools Near Me
- 1,500 education hours or 750 apprenticeship hours are required to become licensed.
- You must renew your license every 2 years.
- 0 continuing education hours are required to renew your license.
- The average salary for barbers in Tennessee is $28,610.
- There is a predicted 8% job increase between 2021–2031 for barbers nationally.
Specifically, you must:
What to Expect From a Barber Program in Tennessee
Required to earn a barbering license
In Tennessee, all Master Barber programs must provide 1,500 training hours in subjects including shaving, cutting hair, sanitation, and more.
General (240 hours)
Chemical (360 hours)
Physical (900 hours)
Tennessee Barber Licensing Requirements
To become a licensed barber in Tennessee, you must complete 1,500 training hours, pass the theory and practical exams, and pay exam fees.
Both exams are administered by PSI Services LLC. Once you complete your training hours, you can register for your exams online, via mail, or via telephone and need to pay a $70 fee per exam.
You must pass the theory portion before you can schedule your practical test. You have three years to pass and qualify for your license. Once you pass both exams, you have six months to apply for licensure.
On the day of either exam, you must arrive at least 30 minutes before your scheduled test time and bring two valid, signed photo IDs.
The theory exam is taken via computer at the following PSI locations:
The exam consists of 100 questions; you have two hours to complete it. You must achieve at least 70% to pass, and you receive your results on-screen as soon as you finish. It's split into the following areas:
Once you've passed your theory exam, you can schedule your practical. This can be taken in person at the following PSI locations:
You must achieve a grade of at least 70% to pass. The exam is split into the following scored areas, which you have three hours and 10 minutes to complete:
Testing candidates needing accommodations per the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) of 1990 can submit their requests online. You may need to describe your disability, provide supporting documentation from a licensed professional, and submit contact information for your relevant medical authority.
Can I Apprentice as a Barber in Tennessee?
Required to earn a barbering license
Yes, you can earn your Master Barber license in Tennessee via apprenticeship.
Master Barber apprenticeships in Tennessee work in the same way as cosmetology apprenticeships. You must enroll in an apprenticeship program as a student before you start your studies and complete 750 classroom hours, then pass the theory exam.
You can then begin an apprenticeship with a salon or mentor pre-approved by your school. Your mentor must have at least 10 years of experience as a licensed Master Barber, and you should be learning from them one-on-one.
Tennessee Barber License Reciprocity
If you're already licensed in another state, you may be able to transfer your barber license for use in Tennessee via reciprocity.
If the state you're licensed in has the same educational requirements as Tennessee, you can request that your licensing state sends a License Certification History to the State Board, along with:
If you originally spent fewer hours in school than Tennessee requires, you need to submit proof that you have either:
- Practiced as a licensee for at least one of the last three years, or
- Practiced as a licensee for at least three of the previous five years
You must also have completed a 12th grade education or passed the GED and barber theory and practical exams. If you don't meet these requirements, your application may be passed to the Board for approval.
Barber License Renewal in Tennessee
License renewal period
Continuing education required
All Tennessee Master Barber licenses must be renewed every two years, and there are no continuing education requirements.
To renew your license, you must send a renewal application via the State Board portal and pay a $60 fee. If your renewal is late, you must pay an extra $60 fee, and your license won't be renewed until you pay. If your license has expired for over three years, it's considered invalid, and you must retake your exams.
Barber Salary and Projected Job Growth in Tennessee
Average yearly salary for barbering in Tennessee
As of May 2022, the mean salary earned by barbers in Tennessee is $28,610 per year, or $13.76 per hour. The lowest paid 10% of Tennessee barbers bring home $23,800 or less per year, while the highest 10% can earn $34,420 or more.
While we don't have exact data for job growth predictions in Tennessee, the overall trend for barber jobs nationwide is on the up, with an expected rise of 8% between 2021-2031.
The top-paying areas for barbers in Tennessee are Chattanooga, TN-GA, at $32,680, and Memphis, TN-MS-AR, at $28,160 per year.
Contact the Tennessee State Board of Barbering
- 500 James Robertson Parkway, Nashville, TN 37243
- Website: Tennessee State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners
- Email: Cosmetology.Board@TN.Gov
- Call: 615-741-2515
- Fax: 615-741-1310
Resources for Barbers in Tennessee
Tennessee Beauticians, Barbers and Nail Technicians' Association
Advocating for the beauty industry throughout the state.