Barbering Schools in New Jersey
If you're looking for a barber school in New Jersey or just beginning to consider a barbering career in the state, then you've come to the right place. Here, we'll discuss what to expect from your New Jersey barber program, how to get your license, what the career field currently looks like, and more.
Browse our directory of barbering schools in New Jersey, or skip ahead to learn about the state's barbering licensing requirements and job outlook.
Browse All Barbering Schools in New Jersey
For School Owners
Don't see your school listed? Want to discuss becoming a featured school in the directory? Contact us to learn more.
45 Sunset Strip And Route 10 East
Succasunna, NJ 7876
2100 State Highway 38
Cherry Hill, NJ 8002
121 Watchung Avenue
North Plainfield, NJ 7060
1458 Route 35 South
Ocean Township, NJ 7712
312 State Street
Perth Amboy, NJ 8861
70 East Holly Avenue
Pitman, NJ 8071
5518 Bergenline Avenue
West New York, NJ 7093
4741 U.S. Route 9
Howell, NJ 7731
You must attend a school that meets any licensure requirements as defined by your state. Most states require that you graduate from an accredited or state-approved school.
- 900 education hours are required to become licensed.
- You must renew your license every 2 years.
- 0 continuing education hours are required to renew your license.
- The average salary for barbers in New Jersey is $42,800.
- There is a predicted 27% job increase between 2020–2030 for barbers.
To become a barber in New Jersey, you need to meet age and training requirements, attend a New Jersey barber program, and pass barber licensing exams, among other things. Specifics include:
What to Expect from a Barber Program in New Jersey
Required to earn a barbering license
Barber programs in New Jersey take 900 hours to complete and include classes in practical and theoretical instruction on hair care, straight razor or old-fashioned shaving, facials, and more.
A standard New Jersey barber program curriculum includes:
For New Jersey barber schools to remain licensed, they must comply with the state's laws and regulations regarding classroom size, maintain student records, possess the minimum amount of equipment necessary for coursework, and renew their license every two years by submitting an application and paying the $300 renewal fee.
Can I Apprentice as a Barber in New Jersey?
No, you can't get your barber license in New Jersey by completing a cosmetology or barber apprenticeship.
New Jersey Barber Licensing Requirements
To get your New Jersey barber license, you must complete 900 hours of barber training at a cosmetology or barber school, pass two tests, and pay several application and license fees.
The barber licensing exam consists of written theory and practical sections. The tests cost $50 to take, which includes the application fee. After applying to take your exams, you'll receive an "authorization to test" email where you'll be directed to schedule your exam on the Iso Quality Testing (IQT) website.
On the day of the exam, you should arrive at least 15 minutes before your scheduled testing time and bring your admission letter along with two forms of valid ID, with one containing a photo.
The theory exam lasts 120 minutes and is comprised of 105 scored items consisting of:
You can take the written exam as a computer-based test through a board-approved third-party vendor. You must earn 75% on the theory exam to take the practical portion. You'll receive a pass/fail score on the test day, while your official scores will be emailed within one to two business days.
Candidates needing Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) accommodations must submit relevant documentation to the state board for approval, followed by submission to IQT before applying for the exam.
If you fail the practical portion twice, then you'll need to reschedule and pay the exam fee again before retaking the test.
New Jersey Barber License Reciprocity
Barbers who received their license outside of New Jersey can obtain a New Jersey barber license without examination through endorsement.
To qualify, candidates must:
Applicants who served in the military can receive a license without training in the state if:
If the applicant's military training, education, or experience isn't equivalent to New Jersey's requirements, then the board will credit a portion of it, so they don't have to start from the beginning.
Barber License Renewal in New Jersey
License renewal period
Continuing education required
You must renew your New Jersey barber license every two years with a $90 renewal fee. Continuing education isn't required to renew your barber license, but doing so may help you stay current with the profession.
Barber Salary and Projected Job Growth in New Jersey
Average yearly salary for barbering in New Jersey
The average salary for barbers in New Jersey is $42,800 annually or $20.58 per hour. The number of New Jersey barber careers is expected to grow by 27% between 2020 and 2030, which is significantly higher than the national average of 8%.
Barber salaries in New Jersey range from $30,440 to $60,590 annually. Wages often depend on location, experience, and specialty services offered.
The highest-paying metro areas for barbers in New Jersey are New York-Newark-Jersey City, New York-New Jersey-Pennsylvania with an annual median salary of $36,960 and Philadelphia-Camden-Wilmington, Pennsylvania-New Jersey-Delaware-Maryland with an annual median salary of $41,600.
Contact the New Jersey State Board of Barbering
Resources for Barbers in New Jersey
New Jersey Hair, Makeup, Nails
A Facebook group for beauty professionals in New Jersey to share tips and support each other.
American Barber Association
The New Jersey chapter provides industry opportunities, education, and advocacy for the state's barbers.