Nail Technician Schools in Texas
Browse our directory of nail technician schools in Texas, or skip ahead to learn about the state's nail technician licensing requirements and job outlook.
Browse All Nail Technician Schools in Texas
For School Owners
Don't see your school listed? Want to discuss becoming a featured school in the directory? Contact us to learn more.
1580 George Dieter Drive Suite 207
El Paso, TX 79936
605 Southwest Military Drive
San Antonio, TX 78238
6804 Ingram Road
San Antonio, TX 78238
311-A East Highway 303
Grand Prairie, TX 75051
UCAS University of Cosmetology Arts & Sciences – Accredited
Harlingen, TX 78550
Find a Nail Technician School Near You
Check out the Nail Technology schools these cities in Texas have to offer.
- Abilene / Sweetwater
- Beaumont / Port Arthur
- Corpus Christi
- El Paso / Las Cruces
- Harlingen / Weslaco / Brownsville / McAllen
- Odessa / Midland
- San Angelo
- San Antonio
- Tyler / Longview / Lufkin / Nacogdoches
- Waco / Temple / Bryan
- Wichita Falls / Lawton, OK
How to Become a Manicurist in Texas
- 600 education hours are required to become licensed.
- You must renew your license every 2 years.
- 4 continuing education hours are required to renew your license.
- The average salary for manicurists in Texas is $25,890 ($12.45/hour). This is higher than the national average of $25,770 ($12.39/hour).
- There is a predicted 18% job increase between 2016–2026 for manicurists. This is higher than the expected national growth of 10%.
Nail technicians in Texas must meet these standards:
- Have a high school diploma or equivalency
- Be at least 17 years old
- If you've been convicted of a felony or pled guilty/no contest to a federal offense, you must submit a Criminal History Questionnaire with the rest of your application materials. Each questionnaire will be reviewed by the board to decide whether or not they'll issue your license (decisions are made on a case-by-case basis)
- Complete 600 hours of training in a beauty school approved by the state
- Pass a written exam and a skills exam
Texas also offers a dual license called an "esthetician/manicurist" license. To earn this license, you need to complete 1,200 hours of esthetician/manicurist education or 750 hours of esthetician and 600 hours of manicurist instruction.
If you already hold separate esthetician and manicurist licenses, you can upgrade to the esthetician/manicurist license by completing the other subject's training and submitting an application and a $50 fee.
What to Expect From a Nail Technician Program in Texas
Time to complete a Nail Technician program in Texas
Nail techs in Texas can choose from 227 state-approved beauty schools. For a beauty school to be approved by the state licensing department, the schools must meet the following requirements:
For a school to have an approved manicurist program, they also must offer their students equipment like client chairs, electric nail files, and whirlpool footbaths.
In your 600 hours of nail tech instruction, you can expect to take classes in:
Texas Nail Technician Licensing Requirements
After completing your 600 hours of training, you'll take your exams. After the Texas Department of Licensing and Registration (TDLR) determines you're eligible, you'll receive an email to schedule your tests. You must take and pass the written exam, which costs $50, before you're able to take the practical test. The practical exam costs $72.
The manicurist exams are offered in English, Spanish, and Vietnamese. TDLR approves your eligibility for your exams, but the exams are administered by PSI, a third-party vendor. You may take your exams at several locations across the state.
After you've passed the practical exam, you may receive a temporary license while you wait for your permanent one to arrive in the mail. Temporary licenses are issued by PSI on the day you pass your practical exam and are valid for 21 days.
Texas Nail Technician Licensure Reciprocity
If you earned your manicurist license in a state other than Texas, you may use the interactive tool featured on TDRL's website to check if they accept your state's licensure. In general, Texas recognizes licenses from states with similar licensing requirements.
If your state's license is recognized by Texas, you must complete a form, pay a $100 application fee, provide a copy of your current license, and submit a sealed letter of certification from the agency that awarded your license. If your state doesn't meet Texas' standards, you submit all of the above plus a certification of your training hours from the school where you studied. The state will then tell you what you need to do to complete any additional requirements.
Nail Technician License Renewal in Texas
License renewal period
Continuing education required
You need to renew your manicurist license every two years. You can complete the required four hours of continuing education anytime in the two years leading up to your license renewal. TDLR recommends starting your renewal process 60 days before your license expires since the renewal process may last several weeks.
If you let your license expire, the way it's handled will differ depending on how long it has been expired.
Nail Technician Salary in Texas and Projected Job Growth
Average yearly salary for Nail Technician in Texas
Nail technicians earned an annual median pay of $25,890 ($12.45/hour) in 2019.
Texas manicurist jobs are expected to grow by a whopping 18% between 2016 and 2026.
Contact the Texas State Board of Nail Technology
Resources for Nail Technician in Texas
Texas Board of Licensing and Regulation: Cosmetology
This board sets licensing standards, publishes updates, and grants you approval for taking your exams. On their site, you can find which beauty schools are approved by the state, find out if a license you received in another state transfers to Texas, download and submit your license application forms, and more.