Nail Technology Schools in Louisiana
Browse our directory of nail technology schools in Louisiana, or skip ahead to learn about the state's nail technology licensing requirements and job outlook.
Browse All Nail Technology Schools in Louisiana
For School Owners
Don't see your school listed? Want to discuss becoming a featured school in the directory? Contact us to learn more.
Pat Goins Benton Road Beauty School – Accredited
Bossier City, LA 71111
Richport Technical College – Accredited
Baton Rouge, LA 70816
You must attend a school that meets any licensure requirements as defined by your state. Most states require that you graduate from an accredited or state-approved school.
Nail Technology Schools Near Me
- 500 education hours are required to become licensed.
- You must renew your license every 1 year.
- 0 continuing education hours are required to renew your license.
- The average salary for manicurists in Louisiana is $20,460 ($9.84/hour). This is lower than the national average of $25,770 ($12.39/hour).
- There is a predicted 10% job increase between 2016-2026 for manicurists nationally.
With its Southern charm and huge festivals, Louisiana is a great state to get established in the beauty industry.
With your manicuring and pedicuring skills, you can give New Orleans visitors the best vacation they've ever had or get Mardi Gras performers glammed up for a show.
State License Requirements
Required to earn a nail technology license
With your education behind you, it's time to move on to your licensing exams. You must pass a written exam, a state law exam, and a practical exam to get your nail technician license. All documents must be submitted to the Louisiana Board of Cosmetology with a $50 fee.
At a local beauty school, you can get the background and training you need to make an impression in Louisiana salons and spas. To start the licensing process, you need to get at least 500 hours of education at an approved school. Most of your hours should be spent on hands-on training. Licensed Louisiana schools have to teach the mandatory topics below.
Courses Offered at LA Nail Schools
License renewal period
Continuing education required
To become a qualified nail technician in Louisiana, your first step towards licensure is the right training program. After you complete a minimum 500 hours of training, you can proceed towards initial licensure. Once obtained, the fee to renew your nail tech license in Louisiana is $25. The deadline for renewal is every year by your date of birth. You will submit your fees with this renewal form to the Louisiana Board of Cosmetology. Like several other states, Louisiana does not require nail technicians to complete continuing education requirements.
Louisiana Nail Technology Careers
Average yearly salary for nail technology in Louisiana
Where would you like to work with your beauty degree? Are you at home in a fast-paced nail salon, taking care of several customers per hour and raking in the tips? Would you fit in at a luxury spa with high-end services and products? Or would you like to become self-employed and set your own hours? No matter how you would like to make an impression in this field, Louisiana nail training is the first step. Currently, the average salary for a Louisiana manicurist is $20,460 per year (Bureau of Labor Statistics, 2020). As you gain experience and make a reputation for yourself, your income potential and job outlook may change.
The Job Outlook for a Nail Technologist in Louisiana appears to have plenty of room for growth. Nail Techs can expect little to no competition in the LA market. With a location quotient of 0.50 and an average annual wage of $20,460, Louisiana is considered to have a lower employment level for this occupation, hence the need for more people, as well as business owners, in this industry.