Cosmetology Schools in Arizona
Are you considering becoming a cosmetologist in the state of Arizona? If you’re dedicated to all things beauty and hair, you’ll be in good company. Arizona is the seventh most beauty-obsessed state in the nation and boasts some of the country’s best salons and spas.
Browse our directory of cosmetology schools in Arizona, or skip ahead to learn about the state's cosmetology licensing requirements and job outlook.
Browse All Cosmetology Schools in Arizona
For School Owners
Don't see your school listed? Want to discuss becoming a featured school in the directory? Contact us to learn more.
2111 South Alma School Road
Mesa, AZ 85210
410 East Bell Road
Phoenix, AZ 85022
9945 West Mcdowell Road
Avondale, AZ 85323
2978 North Alma School Road
Chandler, AZ 85224
3030 East Speedway Boulevard
Tucson, AZ 85716
Eastern Arizona College Cosmetology Academy – Accredited
Safford, AZ 85552
You must attend school in the state you want to practice in. Most states require that you graduate from an accredited school. Learn more about the requirements in your state.
Cosmetology Schools Near Me
- 1,600 education hours or 3,000 apprentice are required to become licensed.
- You must renew your license every 2 years.
- 0 continuing education hours are required to renew your license.
- The average salary for cosmetologists in Arizona is $40,660.
- There is a predicted 9% job increase between 2018–2028 for cosmetologists.
Ready to begin your new career as an Arizona cosmetologist? Before starting, you have to meet several requirements related to age, education, and training.
In Arizona, cosmetologists must meet these requirements:
Current Arizona law does not require a background check or a domestic violence course. You also do not need a high school diploma, just proof of at least a 10th-grade education.
Cosmetologist Salary and Projected Job Growth in Arizona
Average yearly salary for cosmetology in Arizona
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, cosmetologists in Arizona earn an average salary of $40,660 per year, or an hourly rate of $19.55.
A cosmetologist working at a high-end resort spa likely earns much more than a cosmetologist offering simple cuts and blow-dries at a suburban salon.
Job growth is looking up for cosmetologists in Arizona. Between 2018 and 2028, the industry is projected to grow 9%, with 1,140 anticipated job openings every year.
Where you work can impact your average salary. The below chart shows the median pay for cosmetologists in several metropolitan and nonmetropolitan areas in Arizona:
|Metro Area||2020 Median Salary|
|Arizona nonmetropolitan area||$35,160|
|Lake Havasu City-Kingman, AZ||$34,440|
Table information sourced from the O*Net (2021)
State License Requirements
Required to earn a cosmetology license
The first step toward your new career as a cosmetologist is completing the required 1,600 hours of training at a state-licensed cosmetology school. There you will learn the skills required to become a successful cosmetologist, including hair cutting, styling, coloring, nail care, aesthetics, infection control, sterilization requirements, and safety.
You’ll also likely learn some important skills to help you to become an eventual salon manager or owner. Many schools teach important business topics, such as managing client bookings, networking, time management, and using social media to grow your cosmetology business.
The 1,600-hour course requirements as outlined by the Arizona State Board of Cosmetology include:
The cosmetology school you choose to attend may require you to take specific types of classes to graduate, such as hygiene or chemistry as it applies to cosmetology.
After completing the required program, you should be prepared to sit for and pass the Arizona cosmetology exam.
Can I Apprentice as a Cosmetologist in Arizona?
Arizona does have a cosmetology apprenticeship program. This allows students to trade the required 1,600 hours of classroom training for 3,000 hours working alongside a licensed cosmetologist.
The hours must be completed in one and a half years and include a minimum of 250 hours of related training. After completing your apprentice hours, you must pass the required written and practical exam to become a licensed cosmetologist.
Aspiring cosmetologists must be paid for their apprentice hours, and wages typically start at 40 to 50% of skilled workers’ wages. If you wish to become a cosmetologist but cannot afford to pay for school or go without working, an apprenticeship may be a good path.
Arizona Cosmetology Licensing Requirements
After you complete your 1,600 hours of training or 3,000 hours as a cosmetologist apprentice, you can apply to take the written and oral exam to receive your license. To schedule the exam, visit The Arizona State Board of Cosmetology’s online exam application. You must create an account with Professional Credential Services (PCS) to register for the exam.
After PCS approves your application to take the exam, you can schedule your test and pay the fee of $177. You must submit a passport-quality 2” x 2” photo of yourself and print the “Candidates Handbook,” which details exam requirements, including practice questions, how to apply, and supplies you need on exam day.
The exam includes two parts, written and practical. During the test, you must prove your capability to provide a range of cosmetology services, including thermal curling, haircutting, cleaning your work area, sanitation, client preparation, chemical waving, coloring, and virgin hair relaxer.
You must also display knowledge of scientific concepts related to cosmetology, such as infection control, human anatomy, and basic chemistry. On the exam day, you will need a mannequin head and a kit, as described in the Arizona Cosmetology Candidate Handbook.
After the theory portion of the exam, you will receive your unofficial score immediately. Official exam scores generally arrive by email approximately 10 days after the exam. If you need to retake the exam, you must pay the full fee again.
Once you receive your scores, you can apply for your Arizona cosmetology license and pay the required fee of $60 plus $3 for processing. Application processing may take three to four weeks. Upon receiving your license, you can begin your new career as a licensed cosmetologist.
Arizona Cosmetology Licensure Reciprocity
If you hold a cosmetology license in another state, Arizona allows you to transfer that license in most cases. You won’t need to take the required 1,600 of training but must submit the following documentation:
You must also pay a required reciprocity license fee of $60 plus a $3 processing fee. Processing takes 3 to 4 weeks.
License renewal period
Continuing education required
As a cosmetologist in Arizona, you must renew your license to practice every two years. The cost to renew your license is $60, and the application can be completed and submitted online.
Currently, Arizona does not require continuing education hours to renew your license. However, taking additional classes and learning new skills is one of the best ways to learn new techniques and expand your service offerings.
Contact the Arizona State Board of Cosmetology
Arizona’s cosmetology industry is unique in the fact that it has embraced the region’s preserved beauty traditions while mixing it with contemporary trends. Those looking to make a career in cosmetology can avail themselves of a great deal of data thanks to these institutions.
Arizona State Board of Barbers
Cosmetologists and barbers are closely related professions. This site offers information and business guidance for those in the grooming industry in the state of Arizona.
Professional Credential Services (PCS)
PCS is responsible for scheduling and proctoring the cosmetology exam in Arizona and several other states. The Candidate Handbook thoroughly covers exam topics and practice questions.