Cosmetology Schools in Oregon
Attending cosmetology school in Oregon may be the perfect way to launch your beauty career. Beauty professional licensing in Oregon is unique in that you can choose from several specialized licenses rather than one overarching cosmetology license. This means you can potentially tailor your cosmetology training to the beauty disciplines that you plan on practicing with clients after graduation. Browse our directory of cosmetology schools in Oregon, or skip ahead to learn about the state's cosmetology licensing requirements and job outlook.
Browse All Cosmetology Schools in Oregon
For School Owners
Don't see your school listed? Want to discuss becoming a featured school in the directory? Contact us to learn more.
Northwest College School of Beauty – Accredited
Happy Valley, OR 97086
Northwest College School of Beauty – Accredited
Hillsboro, OR 97123
You must attend a school that meets any licensure requirements as defined by your state. Most states require that you graduate from an accredited or state-approved school.
Cosmetology Schools Near Me
- 1,835 education hours are required to become licensed.
- You must renew your license every 2 years.
- 0 continuing education hours are required to renew your license.
- The average salary for cosmetologists in Oregon is $32,880.
- There is a predicted 33% job increase between 2020-2030 for cosmetologists.
In Oregon, becoming a cosmetologist is different than in most other states. Because there is no umbrella cosmetology license, you can become certified as a barber, esthetician, hair designer, nail technologist, or natural hair care specialist. After you complete your training, you can choose the combination of licenses you want to hold and apply for licensure.
To become licensed in Oregon, you must fulfill certain requirements, including:
If you’re on parole or probation, you must provide a letter of release authorizing you to practice cosmetology in Oregon.
Cosmetologist Salary and Projected Job Growth in Oregon
Average yearly salary for cosmetology in Oregon
Jobs for Oregon hairdressers, hairstylists, and cosmetologists are on the upswing, with projected employment growth of 33% by 2030. And according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS), the average salary for cosmetologists in Oregon was $32,880 per year or $15.81 per hour in 2021.
The highest-paying metropolitan and nonmetropolitan areas for cosmetologists in Oregon are:
|Metropolitan and Nonmetropolitan Areas||2020 Median Salary|
|Portland, OR-Vancouver, WA-Hillsboro, OR||$29,600|
|Grants Pass, OR||$27,590|
|Central Oregon nonmetropolitan area||$26,220|
Table information sourced from O*Net (2021)
State License Requirements
Required to earn a cosmetology license
All cosmetology students in Oregon must attend a school or program approved by the Higher Education Coordinating Commission’s Private Career Schools Licensing Unit.
The exact number of training hours required depends on your specialization(s) in Oregon. Oregon cosmetology schools provide training in three main specializations:
Cosmetology schools in Oregon typically cover 1,835 hours of cosmetology instruction, which allows you to apply for an esthetics license, a hair design license, and a nail technologist license. The remaining 40 hours for mandatory career development and Oregon laws and rules training adds up to 1,835 hours of cosmetology training at most schools in the state.
For example, at Aveda Institute Portland, cosmetology students take courses in:
Similarly, the cosmetology program at Beau Monde Academy in Portland covers hands-on training in all the areas you need to become a skilled professional: hair design, esthetics, and nail technology.
Can I Apprentice as a Cosmetologist in Oregon?
Oregon does not currently have an apprenticeship program for aspiring cosmetologists.
Oregon Cosmetology Licensing Requirements
Because the training you obtain in Oregon depends on the specialty you want to become licensed in, the requirements, exams, and fees vary. The fees for licensure include:
You must complete a written exam at the testing center, the Health Licensing Office (HLO). The HLO is usually open for walk-in testing but moved to appointment-only testing during the pandemic. You can email firstname.lastname@example.org or call 503-378-8667 to request an appointment. The testing center is open Monday 8:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m., Tuesday 9:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m., and Wednesday through Friday 8:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.
To prepare for your written exams, you can find detailed information about what’s on the test in the following candidate information bulletins:
The written exams are available in English, Spanish, and Vietnamese. If English is your second language, you can also apply for additional time to complete an exam administered in English. However, you may need to take your exams on two separate testing days to accommodate the added time. Other special accommodations are available upon request by submitting an Accommodation Request form.
You have 90 minutes for each exam, with 100 questions per specialty and 90 questions for the Oregon Laws and Rules exam. To determine how long your examination period may take, multiply that by the number of exams you plan to take. Make sure you leave enough time for all your exams. On the day of the test, you need to show up with two forms of identification from a federal, state, or local government agency—one with a photo.
If you attend an hourly or competency-based school, you must also pass a practical examination conducted by the Higher Education Coordinating Commission (HECC). The practical exam would take place before the written portion.
After you pass the examinations and pay all fees, you can expect to receive your Oregon certification(s) on the same day.
If you fail, you may retake the written exam. After your first or second attempt, you’re eligible to retake the exam on or after the eighth calendar day. But after the third failed attempt, you’re eligible to retake the test after the 30th calendar day. You must also complete additional training and submit your certification as proof or complete an office-administered examination study review, reapply for licensure, and pay the application fee again.
Oregon Cosmetology Licensure Reciprocity
Another option to earn licensure in Oregon is through reciprocity. If you hold an active cosmetology license in another state when you move to Oregon, you may obtain a practitioner certification in barbering, hair design, esthetics, or nail technology.
You must provide proof of licensure in another state and pass the written examinations in the fields in which you seek licensure. Your license must also be in good standing in your home state—if so, you can contact the regulatory authority in your last state of residence and request they mail verification to HLO. Some states allow Oregon to verify the license for you. If that’s the case, mail an Affidavit of Licensure form to HLO.
Next, you take the written exams and pay the associated fees for each practice field. A reciprocity license costs $100 per field of practice to apply and another $65 per field of practice to be certified.
If you’re from out-of-state or out-of-country and do not have a current license, the Higher Education Coordinating Commission (HECC) reviews your training and experience. You can submit your documentation for review by email at email@example.com. HECC then sends a referral of approval to HLO, and you may be allowed to take the written exams.
You must still pass the written exams and pay fees for each field. Depending on your prior training, obtaining your license through reciprocity may require a practical exam.
Cosmetology Specialties in Oregon
Oregon licenses beauty professionals based on the service or practice type rather than offering an umbrella cosmetology license. With a standard cosmetology education in Oregon, you should be able to apply for your hair design, esthetics, and nail technology certifications.
License renewal period
Continuing education required
Cosmetology licenses expire on the last day of the month, exactly two years from the date of issuance. You’re encouraged to apply for license renewal in advance. Mail your application to HLO at least six weeks or renew online at least 45 days before your certification expires.
You cannot renew online if your certification or registration has already expired. If you miss the expiration date, you must complete an Authorization Holder Information Update form and mail it to HLO with your $65 renewal and $50 late fees.
Contact the Oregon State Board of Cosmetology
Oregon’s become a hotbed for cosmetology, spurred on by an array of hip salons and spas opening up there. As looking good in an eclectic way is valued by residents, cosmetology is now a popular career choice. Those wanting to learn more consult these organizations.
Oregon Board of Cosmetology
The Oregon Health Authority’s Board of Cosmetology issues licenses for the field. On the board website, you can find information related to licensure and application requirements.
Cosmetology Practitioner Application Information Packet
This PDF packet provides all the information applicants need on obtaining barbering, hair design, esthetics, and nail technology licenses in Oregon.