Cosmetology Schools in Vermont
Browse our directory of cosmetology schools in Vermont, or skip ahead to learn about the state's cosmetology licensing requirements and job outlook.
Browse All Cosmetology Schools in Vermont
For School Owners
Don't see your school listed? Want to discuss becoming a featured school in the directory? Contact us to learn more.
8 Stratton Road Suite 100
Rutland, VT 05701
You must attend a school that meets any licensure requirements as defined by your state. Most states require that you graduate from an accredited or state-approved school.
Cosmetology Schools Near Me
Check out the Cosmetology schools these cities in Vermont have to offer.
- 1,500 education hours or 2,000 apprentice hours are required to become licensed.
- You must renew your license every 2 years.
- 0 continuing education hours are required to renew your license.
- The average salary for cosmetologists in Vermont is $26,830 ($12.90/hour). This is higher than the national average of $26,090 ($12.54/hour).
- There is a predicted 3% job increase between 2016-2026 for cosmetologists. This is lower than the expected national growth of 9%.
You like looking your best and finding styles that make the most of your features—consider choosing a career that can help you do the same for others!
By becoming a cosmetologist in Vermont, you can learn all about techniques for changing and improving hair, skin, and nail.
State License Requirements
Required to earn a cosmetology license
Completing your education at an approved school is a huge part of becoming a licensed cosmetologist. Once you graduate, you can tackle the rest of the process. You must first register for the theory, practical, and state law exams. The combined fee for these three tests is $250. When you earn passing scores on all three tests, you can apply for your license.
Before you can impress clients with your skills and techniques, you have to get a solid education in the field of cosmetology. In beauty school, you learn about Vermont's laws and statutes regarding cosmetology, how to achieve different looks, and how to use cosmetology chemicals safely. It's essential to choose an accredited school, since accredited programs meet the standards of the Vermont Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists.
What You Can Learn at Beauty Schools in Vermont
License renewal period
Continuing education required
Cosmetology license renewal in Vermont happens every two years on November 30 in odd-numbered years. The cost to renew a cosmetology license is $130. The Board sends out renewal reminders in October. Vermont requires 24 cosmetology continuing education hours to renew instructor licenses. Six of these hours must be in the art of teaching, and the rest should be in your field of study. However, CEUs are always recommended to stay current in the industry.
Vermont Cosmetology Careers
Average yearly salary for cosmetology in Vermont
O*Net expects job openings for Vermont cosmetologists to increase 3% between 2016 and 2026 (2019). On average, Vermont cosmetologists earn $26,830 per year (Bureau of Labor Statistics, 2020).
What kind of career can you pursue when you go into cosmetology? If you become a licensed cosmetologist, you may work at salons, spas, specialty shops, and nail salons. Vermont has many upscale communities with boutique salons and spas, giving you a variety of potential employers to compare. You may work a steady schedule at a salon, rent a chair and set your own hours, or change your beauty community by opening a salon.
Contact the Vermont State Board of Cosmetology
- 89 Main Street, 3rd Floor, Montpelier, VT 05620
- Website: Office of Professional Regulation
Vermont is in the midst of an uptick in numbers with regards to the cosmetology profession. Beauticians thrive here thanks to dedicated clients who appreciate their skills. Those intrigued by pursuing a career there venture to these groups to learn more.