Massage Therapy Schools in Oregon

Browse our directory of massage therapy schools in Oregon, or skip ahead to learn about the state's massage therapy licensing requirements and job outlook.

Browse All Massage Therapy Schools in Oregon

For School Owners

Don't see your school listed? Want to discuss becoming a featured school in the directory? Contact us to learn more.


Find Cosmetology Schools Near You

Carrington College - Portland

2004 Lloyd Center 3rd Floor
Portland, OR 97232

Central Oregon Community College

2600 Northwest College Way
Bend, OR 97703

East West College of the Healing Arts

1515 Southwest 5th Avenue Fourth Floor
Portland, OR 97201

Portland Beauty Academy

8230 Northeast Siskiyou Street #102
Portland, OR 97220

Portland Beauty School

8230 Northeast Siskiyou Street 102
Portland, OR 97220

Rogue Community College

3345 Redwood Highway
Grants Pass, OR 97527

Sage School of Massage & Esthetics

2855 Northwest Crossing Drive Suite 201
Bend, OR 97703
Accredited School

You must attend a school that meets any licensure requirements as defined by your state. Most states require that you graduate from an accredited or state-approved school.

Massage Therapy Schools Near Me

Check out the Massage Therapy schools these cities in Oregon have to offer.

How to Become a Masseuse in Oregon

Oregon Massage Therapy Careers At a Glance
  • 500 education hours are required to become licensed.
  • You must renew your license every 2 years.
  • 15 continuing education hours are required to renew your license.
  • The average salary for massage therapists in Oregon is $60,360 ($29.02/hour). This is higher than the national average of $42,820 ($20.59/hour).
  • There is a predicted 23% job increase between 2016-2026 for massage therapists. This is higher than the expected national growth of 22%.

Working with people to improve their physical health and overall quality of life is the goal of massage therapy. Massage schools in Oregon provide the path to a fulfilling career that is growing in popularity and professional respect. Oregon massage colleges provide quality training to develop personal and technical skills and to meet the state's licensing requirements.

Enjoy the beautiful scenery of the Pacific Northwest while preparing for a career that offers many options for specialization, such as sports, pregnancy or geriatric massage for example. Oregon massage therapy schools are located throughout the state in cities known for their varied recreational and cultural activities.

State License Requirements

500 Education Hours

Required to earn a massage therapy license

In this state, the Oregon Board of Massage Therapists regulates the practice of massage therapy. To become a licensed massage therapist in Oregon, applicants must complete at least 500 hours at an approved massage therapy schools. Of this requirement, 200 hours must be health sciences, such as anatomy and physiology, pathology and kinesiology, and 300 hours must be in massage theory and application, business development, ethics, sanitation and hands-on practice. Applicants must then pass the Oregon Practical Exam administered by the Board, and pass a national certification written exam. The Board accepts the MBLEx, NCETM or the FSMTMB exams. The CESI - Certification Examination for Structural Integration is also accepted. A 25-question open-book written jurisprudence exam covering the laws and regulations applicable to massage is also required.

Education Details

Becoming a licensed massage practitioner in Oregon may let you earn a living helping people relieve stress and pain and helping increase their sense of health and well-being. Massage schools in Oregon can provide you with the basic tools, knowledge, behaviors and ethical guidance that can help you to successfully practice as a massage therapist in a variety of work settings. You can also learn in-depth skills to increase your knowledge and use specialized techniques of massage to serve your clients. If becoming a massage therapist appeals to you, consider investigating one of these Oregon massage therapy schools to help you start your career.

License Renewal

2 Years

License renewal period

15 Hours

Continuing education required

Cosmetology license renewal in Oregon happens every 2 years at the end of the month of original licensure. Cosmetology licenses can be renewed online for $40, or in person or by mail for $45. Cosmetology continuing education is not required for most licenses, except for electrology and permanent makeup, as these careers are certified by a different board. 

Oregon Massage Therapy Careers


Average yearly salary for massage therapy in Oregon

Licensed massage therapists in Oregon earn an annual average salary of $60,360 before tips according to the 2020 U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics report. his state is a record-maker when it comes to employment and salary as compared to other states. Oregon has the 5th highest concentration of massage jobs and locations for work in this occupation.

The Portland metropolitan area is the 7th highest ranked city in the nation for employment level of massage therapists. Corvallis, Oregon also ranks 2nd highest average salary for massage therapists among all metropolitan areas, and the Eugene-Springfield metropolitan area ranks 6th in this category. Southern Oregon and Linn County rank 5th in the nation for highest salary in non-metropolitan areas studied by the BLS. With these options available, we urge you to consider an Oregon massage therapy school to investigate starting your next career.

Contact the Oregon State Board of Massage Therapy

Oregon State Board of Massage Therapists
Massage Therapy

How to Become a Massage Therapist in Your State

Select a beauty program and state to view schools