Massage Therapy Schools in Delaware

Browse our directory of massage therapy schools in Delaware, or skip ahead to learn about the state's massage therapy licensing requirements and job outlook.

Browse All Massage Therapy Schools in Delaware

For School Owners

Don't see your school listed? Want to discuss becoming a featured school in the directory? Contact us to learn more.


Find Cosmetology Schools Near You

Academy of Massage & Bodywork – Accredited

1218 Pulaski Highway Suite 324
Bear, DE 19701
Accredited School

You must attend a school that meets any licensure requirements as defined by your state. Most states require that you graduate from an accredited or state-approved school.

How to Become a Masseuse in Delaware

Delaware Massage Therapy Careers At a Glance
  • 500 education hours are required to become licensed.
  • You must renew your license every 2 years.
  • 24 continuing education hours are required to renew your license.
  • The average salary for massage therapists in Delaware is $51,607 ($24.81/hour). This is higher than the national average of $42,820 ($20.59/hour).
  • There is a predicted 27% job increase between 2016-2026 for massage therapists. This is higher than the expected national growth of 22%.

Massage therapy is a growing profession in the U.S., with over 25 million Americans visiting massage therapists annually. This can be attributed to stress, overwork and simply the everyday wear and tear, but graduates of massage schools in Delaware can be prepared to offer holistic health applications to make clients feel better.

Massage therapy schools in Delaware can train students through in-classroom education, including anatomy and business skills, as well as hands-on practice in the student clinic. Students of Delaware massage schools can benefit from everything this beautiful state has to offer, with the ocean on one side of the state, Washington, D.C. on the other, and a plethora of history, entertainment and cultural venues in between.

State License Requirements

500 Education Hours

Required to earn a massage therapy license

In Delaware, the Board of Massage and Bodywork, part of the Division of Professional Regulation within the Delaware Department of State, regulates massage therapy education and licensing. Delaware has two levels for careers in massage therapy. The first, Massage Technician Certification, requires completion of 300 hours classroom study at an approved Delaware massage therapy school. The entire 300 hours must be taken at one school or approved program in most cases. The second level is Massage Therapist Licensure. Licensed Delaware massage therapists must have completed 500 hours of in class study at an approved school. Licensed massage therapists must also pass the National Certification Examination administered by the National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork ("NCBTMB").or the MBLEx examination administered by the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards ("FSMTB") to attain their license. Students will have studied anatomy and physiology, techniques and theories of massage therapy, ethics, law and other topics.

Education Details

For those interested in attending massage therapy school in Delaware, you can expect to learn basic Swedish massage therapy techniques. You may also learn deep tissue massage, sports massage or other specialty applications of this growing area of health care. Massage therapy is seen as having the largest projected growth rate of careers in the United States, according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics. Many people today use massage therapy to relieve stress, heal injuries and deal with specific conditions such as fibromyalgia, whiplash and carpal tunnel syndrome. More doctors than ever are referring patients to Delaware massage therapists to address stress related conditions, anxiety and depression.

License Renewal

2 Years

License renewal period

24 Hours

Continuing education required

If you want to earn your massage therapy license in Delaware, you will need to understand the license laws, as well as the renewal process, to be sure you keep your status active with the Division of Professional Regulation. Delaware requires massage therapists to complete a program with a minimum of 500 training hours to become a licensed therapist. There is just a 300-hour requirement to become a therapist technician. You will renew your license every two years, which will require a $123 fee with your application. Both types of licenses must complete 24 hours of continuing education courses every two years.

Delaware Massage Therapy Careers


Average yearly salary for massage therapy in Delaware

The Bureau of Labor Statistics rates Delaware as having the second highest average salary, at $51,607 per year. They rate the Wilmington, Delaware metropolitan area combined with parts of Maryland and New Jersey as the ninth best metropolitan area for massage therapy salaries in the United States. According to the Occupational Outlook Handbook published by the BLS, opportunities in massage therapy career are expected to grow faster than the average for other careers over the next several years.

Massage therapists in Delaware practice in a variety of places. Sports teams and facilities use massage to enhance performance professional and amateur athletes as well as Olympic athletes. Massage is even offered at equestrian events for people and the horses. Consider one of the approved Delaware massage therapy schools to determine if this is the career for you.

Contact the Delaware State Board of Massage Therapy

Board of Massage and Bodywork
Massage Therapy

How to Become a Massage Therapist in Your State

Select a beauty program and state to view schools