Massage Therapy Schools in Maine

Browse our directory of massage therapy schools in Maine, or skip ahead to learn about the state's massage therapy licensing requirements and job outlook.

Browse All Massage Therapy Schools in Maine

For School Owners

Don't see your school listed? Want to discuss becoming a featured school in the directory? Contact us to learn more.


Find Cosmetology Schools Near You

New Hampshire Institute for Therapeutic Arts

103 Norway Road
Harrison, ME 04040

Spa Tech Institute - Westbrook – Accredited

100 Larrabee Road
Westbrook, ME 4092
Accredited School

You must attend a school that meets any licensure requirements as defined by your state. Most states require that you graduate from an accredited or state-approved school.

Massage Therapy Schools Near Me

Check out the Massage Therapy schools these cities in Maine have to offer.

How to Become a Masseuse in Maine

Maine Massage Therapy Careers At a Glance
  • 500 education hours are required to become licensed.
  • You must renew your license every year.
  • 0 continuing education hours are required to renew your license.
  • The average salary for massage therapists in Maine is $48,340 ($23.24/hour). This is higher than the national average of $42,820 ($20.59/hour).
  • There is a predicted 11% job increase between 2016-2026 for massage therapists. This is lower than the expected national growth of 22%.

Explore career opportunities as a massage therapist at one of the many massage colleges in Maine. As a student of massage therapy, you can study deep tissue massage, healing touch techniques, reflexology, shiatsu and many more modalities. A trained massage therapist could find jobs at health spas, hotels and rehabilitation centers throughout the Pine Tree State, among other potential employers.

The field of massage therapy is expected to grow faster than average, according to the most recent Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Outlook Handbook. Take the first step to becoming a highly qualified message therapist with training from one of these Maine massage schools.

State License Requirements

500 Education Hours

Required to earn a massage therapy license

In the State of Maine, massage therapy licensing falls under the Office of Professional and Occupational Registration. Maine requires completion of a massage therapy training course of at least 500 hours, and passing a national certification examination. Maine accepts exams from the National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork or the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards. There are a number of massage therapy schools in the state that can provide students with a solid foundation of training in basic massage therapy as well as advanced treatment techniques. As a healing art as well as a science, massage therapy requires a balance of academic and technical knowledge. Therapists must possess clinical skills, manual dexterity, awareness and sensitivity to clients from all backgrounds.

Education Details

People in Maine count on trained massage therapists to help with relaxation and overall wellbeing. If you believe helping feel better is part of your calling, consider attending a Maine massage therapy school. Maine law defines massage therapy as the scientific or skillful manipulation of soft tissue for therapeutic or remedial purposes, specifically to improve muscle tone and circulation, and to promote health and physical well-being." Participating in a career that involves these skills may appeal to you. If so, it is worth considering massage therapy licensure as a way to meet your career goals and the needs of others. To become a solid practitioner of massage therapy requires a sincere desire to help others as well as the commitment of time, energy and focus on the training process.

License Renewal

1 Year

License renewal period

0 Hours

Continuing education required

Maine requires you to renew your license every year in October. The cost to renew your license is $20. Only cosmetology instructors are required to take continuing education hours to renew their licenses, for a total of 14 CEU hours each year. Even if you have a different type of license, you should plan on completing continuing education hours as part of growing in your career. Many employers require employees of all specialties to complete a certain amount of continuing education hours each year.

Maine Massage Therapy Careers


Average yearly salary for massage therapy in Maine

Massage is increasingly accepted by the health care profession and the public as a legitimate form of alternative medicine. This is in part due to measurable positive effects of massage as demonstrated in clinical. Massage therapists in Maine earn an annual average salary of approximately $48,340 as compared to the approximately $42,820 national annual salary. These salaries do not count tips many massage therapists receive through their work.

Southwestern Maine is ranked third highest massage therapist employment in non-metropolitan areas in the nation by the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics. With sponsorship from physicians, hospitals and insurance companies, combined with a projected 20 percent increase in employment through 2020, this may be an ideal time to join the profession of massage therapy.

Contact the Maine State Board of Massage Therapy

Office of Professional and Financial Regulation
Massage Therapy

How to Become a Massage Therapist in Your State

Select a beauty program and state to view schools