Massage Therapy Schools in Utah
Browse our directory of massage therapy schools in Utah, or skip ahead to learn about the state's massage therapy licensing requirements and job outlook.
Browse All Massage Therapy Schools in Utah
For School Owners
Don't see your school listed? Want to discuss becoming a featured school in the directory? Contact us to learn more.
You must attend a school that meets any licensure requirements as defined by your state. Most states require that you graduate from an accredited or state-approved school.
Massage Therapy Schools Near Me
Check out the Massage Therapy schools these cities in Utah have to offer.
How to Become a Masseuse in Utah
- 1000 education hours are required to become licensed.
- You must renew your license every 2 years.
- 0 continuing education hours are required to renew your license.
- The average salary for massage therapists in Utah is $42,510 ($20.44/hour). This is lower than the national average of $42,820 ($20.59/hour).
- There is a predicted 42% job increase between 2016-2026 for massage therapists. This is higher than the expected national growth of 22%.
Set amongst one of the most beautiful states in the country, massage schools in Utah offer students a place to study massage therapy theory and technique, especially if you enjoy the outdoors and beautiful scenery. For those who love adventure, Utah offers hiking, mountain biking and white water rafting, to name a few outdoor adventures.
There are several Utah massage schools to choose from particularly in Salt Lake City or Provo, and both cities offer affordable rents, nightlife, shopping and outdoor activities. If you want to study in a place that has vibrant culture and a strong sense of community, choose one of the massage therapy schools in Utah.
State License Requirements
Required to earn a massage therapy license
The Massage Therapy Board at the Utah Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing offers two kinds of massage therapy credentials in the state. A Massage Therapist (MT) must complete at least 600 hours of instruction from an approved massage therapy school and pass either the NCBTMB or the MBLEx national certification exam. This will allow them to be licensed in the state to practice massage therapy. A Massage Apprentice (MA) is an individual licensed to work under the direct supervision of a licensed massage therapist. MAs must document at least 1000 hours of supervised training and pass the Utah Massage Theory Examination. Both the massage therapist and massage apprentice are required to pass the Utah Massage Law Exam to obtain their licenses. The licensed massage therapist is expected to have knowledge and experience with a variety of massage and bodywork modalities and provide the highest quality services to their clients. The goal of massage therapy school in Utah is producing graduates who will be in demand with employers and clients.
Massage therapists in Utah learn to master a variety of hands-on massage therapy skills. Massage therapy schools also teach ethics and business planning skills to allow newly licensed therapists to explore opportunities for self-employment in their new career. You can discover ways to use the art of touch to help in rehabilitation from exercise related injuries or to help overcome the stress and tension stored in a client's body. Massage therapy triggers the body to release endorphins, the natural painkiller of the body. Bodywork is used to treat chronic illness, help recover from injuries and surgery and to relieve patient pain. Jobs in massage therapy can offer the satisfaction of helping people while working in a positive and exciting work environment.
License renewal period
Continuing education required
Utah cosmetology license renewal is required every two years on September 30. The renewal fee for beauty practitioner licenses is $52. Utah does not currently require cosmetology continuing education hours to renew licenses, but CEUs are always recommended to stay current in the industry.
Utah Massage Therapy Careers
Average yearly salary for massage therapy in Utah
Licensed massage therapists in Utah an average salary of $42,510 annually before tips, according to the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (2020).
Licensed therapists who choose to develop an expertise in a particular type of massage or who choose to specialize in certain techniques can earn significantly more and develop a dedicated clientele. Massage therapy as a career may be what you are seeking. If so, investigate an approved massage therapy school in Utah to discover the starting point.
Contact the Utah State Board of Cosmetology
- 160 E 300 S, Salt Lake City, UT 84114
- Website: Utah Department of Commerce Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing
- Email: firstname.lastname@example.org
- Call: 801-530-6628