Cosmetology Teacher Training in Minnesota

Browse our directory of cosmetology teacher schools in Minnesota, or skip ahead to learn about the state's teacher licensing requirements and job outlook.

Browse All Teacher Training in Minnesota

For School Owners

Don't see your school listed? Want to discuss becoming a featured school in the directory? Contact us to learn more.

8205 University Avenue
Spring Lake Park, MN 55432

(763) 717-1903
Cosmetology, Teacher Training

4444 West 76th Street Suite 200
Edina, MN 55435

(952) 681-2167
Esthetics, Laser Hair Removal, Nail Technology, Permanent Makeup, Teacher Training

Find Cosmetology Schools Near You

Atelier Academy – Accredited

1413 Main Street
Hopkins, MN 55343

Beauty Inspiration Association

2481 Liberty Ridge
Woodbury, MN 55129

Institute of Serene Skin and Beauty – Accredited

10700 Highway 55 Suite 300
Plymouth, MN 55441

Minnesota Brow Lash & Medspa Academy – Accredited

5841 Cedar Lake Road 200-211
St. Louis Park, MN 55416

Nova Academy of Cosmetology – Accredited

1750 Weir Drive
Woodbury, MN 55125

Nova Academy of Cosmetology - Mankato – Accredited

500 Raintree Road Suite 10
Mankato, MN 56001

Nova Academy of Cosmetology - Rochester – Accredited

5979 Bandel Road
Rochester, MN 55901

PCI Academy - Plymouth – Accredited

4315 Peony Lane North
Plymouth, MN 55446

Saint Paul College - Saint Paul – Accredited

235 Marshall Avenue
Saint Paul, MN 55102

Salon and Spa Professional Association – Accredited

2626 East 82nd Street 340
Bloomington, MN 55425

The Atelier Academy of Beauty

1413 Mainstreet
Hopkins, MN 55343

How to Become a Cosmetology Teacher in Minnesota

Minnesota Cosmetology Teacher Training At a Glance
  • 38 education hours are required to become licensed.
  • You must renew your license every 3 years.
  • 4 continuing education hours are required to renew your license.
  • Average salary for teacher training in Minnesota is $50,830.
  • There is a predicted -5.7 job increase between 2012 - 2022.

We love how the state of Minnesota works with cosmetology instructors and professionals to improve and clarify state laws. This cooperation was on full display, as beauty professionals and educators worked together to improve sanitation guidelines. This lets our industry and clients know that we're dedicated to providing the best and safest services. It also helps instructors provide accurate information when they teach beauty teacher training courses. It definitely takes a special passion and skillset to teach effectively. If you're considering adding beauty school teacher training to your set of skills, we want to help! Our number one priority is making sure you have the right information about what to expect when you take beauty teacher training courses in MN.

The information below will give you the highlights of what the state of Minnesota requires for cosmetology instructors. This should give you a general idea of what kind of timeline, salary, and careers you can pursue upon completion. Many of you are checking out these programs because you already know where you want to go — and that's cool. If that's not you, don't sweat it — just request info from schools in your area, and move forward.

State License Requirements

38 Education Hours

Required to earn a teacher training license

After you earn your cosmetology license in Minnesota, you may want to become an instructor. Use your license to get at least 2,700 hours of work experience as a cosmetologist in a period of no more than three years. After completing an approved instructor training course, you must take the written exam, the practical exam, and the Minnesota laws and rules exam. You must pay a fee of $195.

Education Details

The first step to becoming an awesome beauty school teacher is choosing a great program. You can't know whether a program is right for you until you compare the courses at every school in your area. You should find a program that will help you teach all types of learners using the most effective methods. It's also important to complete your program with a keen understanding of the laws and regulations in Minnesota.

Minnesota beauty instructor courses

  • Teaching methods
  • Student assessment
  • Leadership
  • Professional skills

License Renewal

3 Years

License renewal period

4 Hours

Continuing education required

ince there is not an official Minnesota cosmetology instructor license in this state, you are required to earn your standard cosmetologist’s license to teach here. Additionally, to be an instructor, you will have to complete 1,400 work hours, and 38 hours of training, and pass the required exams. Cosmetologists are required to take 4 continuing education courses every three years, and instructors must earn 45 CEUs during the same timeframe. The renewal process is every three years, with a fee of $81 to the Minnesota Board of Cosmetologist Examiners.

Minnesota Teacher Training Careers


Average yearly salary for teacher training in Minnesota

Beauty school instructors in Minnesota have a unique opportunity for success, especially for those living around the Minneapolis area. Beauty school instructors spend their time teaching students that are interested in pursuing professions as salon specialists. Some specialties include hair styling, nail art, tanning and more. On average, school instructors receive an annual salary of about $49,470 per year. There are currently 119,800 beauty school instructors currently working across the United States.

Contact the Minnesota State Board of Cosmetology

Minnesota Board of Cosmetology
Teacher Training

How to Become a Cosmetology Teacher in Your State

Select a beauty program and state to view schools